Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) will today transition to the 2021 version of the National Occupation Classification (NOC) system, a change that has been in the works since its July 27 announcement.

The move will change eligibility for some of Canada’s 100+ immigration programs, including Express Entry.

For example, while the current NOC system (NOC 2016) requires that an Express Entry candidate have work experience classified under NOC skill type 0, A or B, IRCC’s shift to NOC 2021 brings with it training, education, Will change the experience. and Accountability (TEER) system.

Thus the skill type categories of the current NOC system coincide with the TERE categories of the 2021 NOC system.

NOC 2016 NOC 2021
skill type 0 tier 0
skill level a tier 1
skill level b tier 2
skill level b tier 3
skill level c tier 4
skill level d tier 5

Updated NOC 2021 Eligibility Criteria for Express Entry

eligibility criteria canadian experience class federal skilled worker program federal skilled trade program
English or French skills CLB 7 for Tier 0 or Tier 1 businesses; CLB 5 for Tier 2 or Tier 3 businesses clb 7 CLB 5 for speaking and listening; clb4 for read and write
Type/Level of Work Experience Canadian work experience in an occupation listed in one or more of these NOC tier categories: Tier 0, Tier 1, Tier 2, or Tier 3. Work experience in an occupation listed in one of these NOC tier categories: Tier 0, Tier 1, Tier 2, or Tier 3. Work experience in a skilled trade under Tier 2 or Tier 3 major conglomerates.*
amount of work experience One year in Canada (either a combination of full-time or part-time work) in the last three years. One year continuous (part-time, full-time or combination of more than one job in your primary occupation) within the past 10 years. Two years within the last five years (either a combination of full-time or part-time work)
job offer Needless to. Not required but you can qualify the Selection Criteria (FSW) marks for valid job offer. A valid job offer of full-time employment for a total period of at least one year or a Certificate of Competency in that skilled trade issued by a Canadian provincial, territorial or federal authority.
education Needless to. Secondary education is required. You can get more selection criteria (FSW) marks for your post-secondary education. Needless to.

* Major Groups of TER 2 and 3 that are eligible for FSTP include: Major Group 72, Technical Trade and Transport Officers and Controllers, except Sub-Major Group 726, Transport Officers and Controllers; Major Group 73, General Trade; Major Group 82, supervisors in natural resources, agriculture and related production; Major Group 83, Businesses in natural resources and related production; Major Group 92, Processing, Manufacturing and Utilities Supervisors, and Utilities Operators and Controllers; Except Major Group 93, Central Control and Process Operators and Aircraft Assembly Assemblers and Inspectors, Sub-Major Group 932, Aircraft Assemblers and Aircraft Assembly Inspectors; Minor Group 6320, Cooks, Butchers and Bakers, and; Unit Group 62200, Shef.

Note: CLB refers to the Canadian Language Benchmark

Key note regarding selection factor points for FSWP

Marks awarded for selection factors as part of the Federal Skilled Workers Program (FSWP) will now follow the updated skill type/level chart introduced with the NOC 2021 system.

Example: If a candidate scores 10 for systematic employment in skill type/level 0, A or B, he will still score for systematic employment in TER 0, 1, 2 or 3.

Occupational eligibility for Express Entry is changing with the move to NOC 2021

With the change in NOC 2021, 16 businesses will become newly eligible for Express Entry, while three businesses will become ineligible. The three new ineligible occupations will remain eligible for programs with broader occupational eligibility criteria, such as certain streams of the Provincial Nominee Program (PNP).

16 new eligible businesses:

  • payroll administrator
  • Dental Assistant and Dental Laboratory Assistant
  • nurse assistants, orderlies, and patient service aides
  • Pharmacy Technical Assistant & Pharmacy Assistant
  • Primary and Secondary School Teacher Assistant
  • sheriff and bailiff
  • correctional service officer
  • Deputy Law Enforcement and Other Regulatory Officers
  • Estheticians, Electrologists and Related Professions
  • Residential and Commercial Installers and Servicers
  • Pest Controller and Fumigator
  • other repairers and servicers
  • transport truck driver
  • Bus drivers, subway operators, and other transit operators
  • heavy equipment operator
  • Aircraft Assembler and Aircraft Assembly Inspector

Three new ineligible businesses:

  • other artists
  • Program leaders and trainers in recreation, sports and fitness
  • Tailors, Dressmakers, Furriers and Milliners

Changes in NOC 2021 will have impact on CRS

Similar to the changes mentioned above with FSWP, the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) scores awarded for systematic employment will now follow the updated skill type/level chart introduced with the NOC 2021 system.

Example: If a candidate scores 50 marks for systematic employment in Skill Type/Level 0, A or B, he will still score if his NOC is in TEER 0, 1, 2 or 3

Next steps based on your individual situation

Depending on where an individual candidate is in their Express Entry journey, IRCC requires different actions to switch to NOC 2021.

Firstly, those who have not yet submitted an Express Entry profile but are planning to do so on or after today’s switch, need to find and submit their occupation code as per NOC 2021 while filling the profile.

Meanwhile, for candidates who have submitted a profile but have not received an Invitation to Apply (ITA), there are separate instructions from IRCC. In this case, candidates will need to update their submitted Express Entry profile at any time after the changes come into effect tomorrow. For this the individual will need to find the NOC 2021 list on the Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) website and update their profile with their TEER category and five digit occupation code.

Lastly, anyone who has received their ITA before 16th November needs to submit their Express Entry application using NOC 2016 (using the NOC code provided at the time of receipt).

© CIC Updates All Rights Reserved. Visit Worldoverseasimmigration.com to find your Canadian immigration options.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *